Notices

Delimna or Delimma

Old 01-22-2016, 07:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Delimna or Delimma

Ok I have a delimma or delimna depending upon where you learned English. Since I first got sober part of my MO has been not to force situations and go along with life in general. It has really worked. Since getting sober my life has been on an upward trajectory business and personel wise. I am a self employed consultant. I had a job offer where the owner of a company essentially allowed me to name my price, within reason,to work for his company. This week was my first week working for this new company. Delimna is even though I am getting paid really well I hate it. Everything about it tells me to run out the door. They are not mean to me it just feels off. What would you do? Am I compromising my original MO? Am I being petty?
Old 01-22-2016, 07:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Depends on what your goals are and if you need/want the money. Also are these people going to look good on your resume and lead to something better?

That's the only reason I'm keeping my low paying job that kinda makes me ill.
Old 01-22-2016, 07:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I do not need the money. It's just security. However, the part of what I am trading was what I really want to do. The people I am working for I get the feeling are only interested in money itself. I could be slightly presumptuous I just have this feeling. It's difficult though. In an industry if the pay range was between A - Z and you were offered Z what would you do? Who doesn't want to make Z?
Old 01-22-2016, 08:09 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Go with your gut.. Do the old pro's vs cons on a piece of paper.. One thing I would do is be honest and have very open communication with the new firm, have a 1x1 with your manager, tell him your concerns early on.. and don't work anywhere even if it's for Z that might put your soberity at risk!!
Old 01-22-2016, 08:17 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012