Notices

Can't get Librium- HELP

Old 01-03-2016, 05:28 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Can't get Librium- HELP

Hi everyone

Well as the title says. I have been drinking around 8 UK units per night for the past three months, with this increasing to 15+ UK units on the weekends. I want to stop, but the reason I haven't is I feel too anxious when I do stop.

And I get terrible insomnia (the reason I started drinking was as a night cap!!!)

I phoned the "out of hours" GP last night, and he told me I haven't been drinking enough to warrant Librium?

Uhm... So why am I having these symptoms???? Should I phone the Out of hours again, hoping I get a different doctor? My GP wont be back until tomorrow and I dont want to wait until then BECAUSE I DONT WANT ANOTHER NIGHT OF DRINKING TO AVOID WITHDRAWALS!
Old 01-03-2016, 06:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Withdrawals are unavoidable unfortunately. Usually doctors prescribe other drugs to help prevent some of the really bad/dangerous possibilities like seizures, stroke, etc. Insomnia is a pretty common side effect of quitting and while it is unpleasant, it is not life threatening.

Having said that consulting with your doctor is a good idea before quitting. If you can't wait until tomorrow see an emergency doc. Most doctors won't just prescribe a benzo or any other similar drug over the phone as they have addictive qualities themselves, and can be very dangerous when mixed with alcohol.
Old 01-03-2016, 06:32 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Marchia in Aeternum

Unfortunately, withdrawal comes with symptoms. Getting through them is sometimes referred to as "white-knuckling". You just grab something and hang on. They will pass.
Old 01-03-2016, 07:21 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

There's going to be a natural period of withdrawal that we can't wipe away with another substance, it's the nature of the beast unfortunately, the body after years of drinking needs to adjust.