Notices

Alcohol abuse and in need of advice/ support...

Old 11-15-2015, 11:25 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcohol abuse and in need of advice/ support...

Hi guys. I am new here so please be gentle with me. My name is Sam and I have now admitted that I have a problem with alcohol. I don't know if this equates to alcoholism, but I know that my consumption is unsustainable and not healthy. It is definitely alcohol abuse. I am I've been quite a big drinker since the age of 16 and I am now 33. It started with going out and parties etc as a teenager. I went through University and probably drank too much. Now I drink regularly and I binge. What's worse is that I am a professional and have a fantastic career and don't want to jeopardise this. I'll go to the pub at lunch and have two glasses of wine and more when I get home. Most days of the week. Last Christmas I started bleeding from places you shouldn't bleed from. That cleared up, but now I can see the affect its having on my body. I get tingles and numbness and shaking, dependency really. The past week I've lost my balance and my memory is going and occasionally my speech (even if I'm sober). My mind is very foggy. That is what I mean by unsustainable. Now I'm petrified of liver chorrosis and the damage I've done to my sense of feeling and my speech and my mind. My neighbour and friend I've found out is an alcoholic and I've looked at her and had a wake up call. I've not had a drink in 3 days now and I've bought all the vitamins and thistle milk under the sun. I'm scared I won't be able to stop myself if I start again. Could I ever learn to have a "normal" relationship with alcohol, if I have a propensity to be addicted? Now there's the odd word I miss in a conversation and pain and tingling in my fingers. A little bit of feeling dizzy. But this has vastly improved since I've been sober. Some advice would be really fab, as I am very scared and unsure of myself. Some advice from someone with the same experiences as me wou