Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism
Reload this Page >

I've realized I'm an Alcoholic. Not sure what to do next.

Notices

Old 10-09-2015, 01:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm a 23 year-old college grad and I'm an alcoholic. I didn't get drunk even once until I was a few months before my 21st. My 21st was the 2nd time I drank. The following year I lost control. Fearing graduation, losing my support base, and tensions with my family I began to drink to excess. I blacked out multiple times, didn't understand where I lived, who my friends/ girlfriend was and couldn't walk on several occasions. My girlfriend left me. Thank God she did because it slapped some sense into me and I cut back and began to drink in moderation. We got back together and have been together (in total) for 3 years (in fact today is our anniversary). Now, eight months later, I feel myself slipping again, drinking too much. I've been out of a job for 2 weeks and I'm dealing with it by drinking. I deal with stress by drinking oftentimes. 5-9 beers is what I usually do, but I've been airing on the high end of that number recently. I don't know that I am absolutely an alcoholic right now, but I want to stop this escalation before that is absolute. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all.
Old 10-09-2015, 02:32 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hello and welcome.
You're wise to realize you may have a problem with alcohol. It took me many years to admit it.
I had to find other ways to deal with the ups and downs of life without drinking, but I drank alcoholically for twenty five years.
My personal, mental and emotional growth was stunted by alcohol. I had to learn how to be responsible and be an adult.

I wish I had the answer to your problems, but all I can suggest is to stop drinking now. As you've noted, you're drinking more than you used to.