Notices

Desperately need advice

Old 05-21-2015, 03:24 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Desperately need advice

I've been visiting this site for over 18 months but I've never registered. I have to say there have been posts and threads that stopped me ending it and made me feel less alone so I am so so grateful to all subscribers- thank you. I can't leave my mum on her own.
I've just turned 29 and have been a daily drinker for 10 years apart from periods I've spent in psychiatric hospitals or rehab recently. Prior to that my first drink was at 12 and always problematic and in excess.
I hate drink. I hate it. But it's the only thing I live for (apart from my family but its a different kind of love) I know that is such a paradox- sounds like a contradiction but I hope someone understands.
I know I'm one drink away from wet brain I know I'm going to die but I don't care I want to. Death by 'misadventure' would be easier to accept than suicide but its not 'misadventure' its a constant cumulative deliberate conscious routine. I don't know how I'm alive now I shouldn't be.
2014- 5 months in a psychiatric hospital over 3 admissions and Librium detoxes. I wasn't allowed do their addiction programme because they felt I was suicidal. I was discharged and then detained under the Mental Health Act. Drank as soon as I was discharged each time.
December 2014-January 2015 accepted to another treatment centre regarded as best in Europe. Intense and so tough only woman for most of it but drank within an hour of release.