Notices

help me ..confussed

Old 08-17-2004, 06:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Exclamation help me ..confussed

hi, i'm new to this i have a couple of questions .. i've been drinking heavy for a few years on and off but latley i've had to stop cause it has scared me enough to stop from fear of my life , the last few months have seen my uncontrollable drinking habits in social situations come to drastic messures i know i have a big problem i've lost all my friend as a result . has anyone here in the past had the problem of blacking out while drinking it happens to me alot in the last year
i started drinking the other night by myself and blacked out again it's scaring me this is just the tip of the iceberg but yeah ,,
Old 08-17-2004, 06:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Chy

Hi and welcome,
For starters your not alone okay? Many who suffer from alcoholism go through those blackouts, which can be terribly frightnening, wondering the unknown. Typically, they can occur at any given time when drinking, be it a newbie or an old timer at drinking. There is support available, there are many options, you have to decide what will work for you, but most can't do it alone.

It's good you realize it's time something must be done, and I'm glad you found us. We'll be here for you to lean on, seek out solutions, look for answers, but ultimatly, it's in your hands. *hugs*
Old 08-17-2004, 07:08 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Fear is good... ;o)

But only if we don't ignore the prodding...

And I've learned to ignore LOTS of things I shouldn't when it comes to using.... cause one of the tools of MY disease is denial and minimization of the impact on my life.

But.. it's a new day and it CAN be a new way... just by taking differnent actions... like looking for the local numbers for AA... or calling someone to let them know your struggling with alcohol..

There is an alcoholics section on this board...
http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...isplay.php?f=6