Notices

Blackout drinking since i was 23

Old 03-10-2015, 01:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Kingtarquin

Blackout drinking since i was 23

Let me preface my next few comments on I'm not trying to compare myself to others or make a contest of anything. However I was curious what and how much other people on SR used to drink before they realized it was too much. I like to reflect on the ludicrous fact that over the last 23 years I probably averaged 3 days a week of drinking past the blackout point. I have been working in the restaraunt biz since I was 18 years old and up until a couple years ago I drank everyday after work excluding a few off days here and there. And a majority of those days were blacking out. I just thought that was the norm. Reflecting on how much I used to drink helps me rationalize the effort I am putting in to trying to stay alive by not drinking. I sometimes wonder how close I was to the end. I have a lot of questions still and I am starting to realize why my recovery of my mind is taking some time? I literally abused my mind for 20+ years. I know I am rambling tonight I just have a lot of mindful energy I am trying to equalize at the moment. I hope my questions are not inappropriate just picking at my brain.
Old 03-10-2015, 01:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

During the worst of my drinking I would also blackout two to three times a week. Sometimes on weekends sometimes on work nights. Some were "brown outs" where you remember bits and pieces and others were complete blackout where I could have woken up in a different state and have no idea how I got there. Luckily I always woke up at home.

Sometimes I'd blackout and act fine. Other times I would verbally abuse people and become physically aggressive. I would often post inappropriate and offensive things on Facebook.