Notices

Health Anxiety / Thinking of going to the ER

Old 02-27-2015, 04:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Health Anxiety / Thinking of going to the ER

Hey all. I have been a lurker on these forums for almost a year and a half now, and have always found it a great resource for helping me in my sobriety.

I'm going to give a little naclstory here and I am hoping somone will be able to calm me down a little.

I started drinking casually my senior year of high school, at about the same rate as many others, I didn't seem like a problem at that point. When I graduated in 2007, most of my friends went off to college, and myself and a couple of others were left at home, doing the community college thing. From 2007-2009 I was drinking, but mostly smoking marijuana, although, when I did drink, it was starting to affect my life (i.e. too hungover to work, etc.).

I would say somewhere between 2009 and 2011 is when I was really starting to binge drink, always vodka, 750ml or more, with some sort of chaser before and after each shot.

In january of 2013 I got a DUI, it was awful. I am still dealing with the repercussions of that today. It did not stop my drinking, in fact, late 2012-early 2013 were by far my worst drinking times. Then, in april of 2013 I found out my mother had cancer and had a month to live. She dies almost exactly a month later, on May 13, 2013. I kept drinking. Eventually I sobered up long enough to realize I needed help. I detoxed at home (like a moron) and ended up spending 33 days at an in-patient facility which was tremendous and made me think quite a bit about life and sobriety. I then did 7 weeks of IOP and stayed sober for almost 6 months.

Then I fell off the wagon. I had a bad 3 weeks of old habits, about as bad as I could make it. Confessed, and got cleaned up again for another few months, and slipped again mildly.

All in all I would say since august of 2013 when I got out of rehab, I have had 5 pretty gnarly binges.