Notices

5 Days

Old 10-02-2014, 06:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

5 Days

I am currently a college student majoring in business and minoring in political science, a member of a fraternity, and I admittedly enjoy my Bud Light. I've tried stopping before, and I would just tell my parents: "I can stop if I want to." Although I tried this week, because of a difficult exam, and found it to be very difficult. My freshman year I began drinking heavily and I gained 50 pounds before my sophomore year. I was a competitive and successful swimmer and looking at pictures I have completely thrown all of that away. I have not had a serious relationship in college because the only girls I meet are through parties, mostly because in any other context my social anxiety overwhelms me. I hope to at least get a handle on my drinking if not allow my urge to subside completely. I would like to get back into shape and run a marathon, which was my goal leaving high school. So as I stated in the title, I am five days in. I've had urges to have one, and with half a case in my fridge it has been tempting. My urges are not completely overwhelming, and only been drinking for a few years I don't think I have progressed as far as some may before they seek help. It would just be nice to get a handle on it so I can go out with friends and either not drink or not have to drink 15 beers each night at the bar (It's also eating into my bank account ) So I figured i'd start here.
Old 10-02-2014, 06:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Marchia in Aeternum

Getting it under control early is a great first step. Whether you can relearn moderation or not will be seen. Best of luck to you, and whatever support you need, we're here.
Old 10-02-2014, 06:49 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome Recoverydreams . It's great to have you join us.