Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism
Reload this Page >

NEW HERE! Terrified of alcohol withdrawal please any advice would help!!!!

Notices

Old 08-06-2014, 12:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi I'm Ann and I'm new to this forum but I had to join today because I am terrified and I want my life back. I'm a 22 year old female and I've been drinking daily for about 6 months now. I usually drink about three beers and a half a bottle of wine, so I don't know what that adds up as. I want to quit but I am terrified of all the things I read online about withdrawing. Likes having seizures or even death. I want to know if in any of your opinions should someone who has been drinking the amount I have in the period of time I have taper off alcohol or just stop cold turkey? I usually will drink until I'm decently drunk every night. I usually start at night around like 9 and stay up until about 4 am drinking on and off. Then I'll eat. I also have annorexia and have lost a lot of weight recently so I am afraid of that. I am 5'5 1/2 and weigh about 104 pounds. Could my weight make withdrawal symptoms worse? If anyone can help me I would greatly appreciate it. I am terrified of withdrawal and am really alone on this and could use any kind of support. thank you. Also as of right now it's been 9 and a half hours since my last drink. Laying in bed and can't sleep. I'm just really scared.
Old 08-06-2014, 12:06 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Ann - welcome

We can't give you medical advice here I'm afraid - and in the case of withdrawal it's impossible to do that over the net anyway, cos everyone is different.

Some people detox without any apparent ill effects and others do not.

I know it's scary but the very best thing to do is see your Dr (or any Dr) get checked out, and ask their opinion.

It really is the safest way and it will give you peace of mind

D
Old 08-06-2014, 12:07 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Matt M