SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Alcoholism (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/)
-   -   Chronic relapser desperately trying to get sober! (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/340146-chronic-relapser-desperately-trying-get-sober.html)

IHaveToday 07-26-2014 04:05 PM

Chronic relapser desperately trying to get sober!

I am so glad I found this forum… my real name is Larry, and this is my story and thank you for listening. Please help me! I am a well-educated Software Engineer working for an unnamed global software company, and have been struggling to get sober for the last 35 years. I just can’t seem to stop drinking! I get off work and drink a case of beer, or sometimes a couple of the magnum bottles of wine, or sometimes a 5th of vodka every single night. I wake up in the morning in absolute terror, shaking, puking, and s#!tting liquid. Always wondering: “Oh my God!”, “What did I do?”, “Who did I hurt?”, “Where is my car?”, “What did I post on FaceBook?” I have to take a Xanax, just to calm the shakes in the morning and make it to work that day. I can’t drink in the morning and go to work for this company. But, they are probably soon ready to fire me anyway I imagine, from an absolute dream job? I say to myself every single morning, feeling like I am absolutely going to die, that I am done with drinking forever!!! But by the time I get off work, and feel a little better, guess where I go? Straight back to the liquor store!!! For another round, of the same old daily “round and round” with alcohol!!!