Notices

I need help badly.

Old 07-14-2014, 10:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I need help badly.

I am almost a 62 yr old alcoholic woman. I have been drinking practically daily for 20 yrs. I drink 2 bottles of chardonnay a day, sometimes more, depends on when I start. I "retired" at 59 yrs old & that was a big mistake. It gave me too much time on my hands. I am also a big codependent who does a lot for my grandkids & kids. And then I get resentful & drink over it. I go back to work in August & honestly won't survive the work environment if I don't quit drinking by then. I have already been diagnosed with a fatty liver a year ago & I can feel pain on my right side & around to my back. I really should be in treatment but can't due to commitments & job coming up. I saw myself in a mirror yesterday & I look awful! I have gone to AA, but then the person that wants to be my sponsor is super religious, I can't handle the super religious at all. They want to close the phone call with a prayer & tell me to pray at night. I just want somebody to help me. It's clear I can't do this alone, I know that. How do I get help, I need it!
Old 07-14-2014, 10:53 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Hi missy. There are probably several things you could do or places you could seek help.

If you feel AA would work but your sponsor is not the type of person you feel comfortable with, you could try a different sponsor or different meetings. Not all sponsor/sponsee relationships work out and it's commonplace to start over.

Intensive outpatient treatment and/or counseling would be another optoion, even if you are doing AA.

Don't rule out detox either - it can be done in a period of a few days and would at least get you sober safely.

Posting and reading here on a regular basis is my recovery plan, so don't rule that out either.