Notices

Asking a Really Stupid Question About Bars

Old 05-11-2014, 03:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Asking a Really Stupid Question About Bars

Hi, I am new to this and I know this is probably a really stupid question to ask, but here goes ...

My friend is a recovering alcoholic. Doesn't drink anymore. Doesn't go to bars, either!

We are planning a trip together and I have just found that the local meeting place for a group we are interested in (sports fans) is ... a neighborhood bar!

I don't drink, so I very rarely go to bars, but on the rare occasions I do go, I have no problem ordering a soft drink or just ice water.

Not sure about my friend.

Should I suggest we try to meet some of our fellow fans in this new city at their bar? Or just forget the whole thing, not mention that I saw anything about their group, and just enjoy the other parts of our planned trip?
Old 05-11-2014, 03:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I would ask if she feels comfortable going there or not, and if she doesn't then make other arrangements.
Also, with you being there with her and both of you not drinking, it might not be so bad, but totally their discretion though
Old 05-11-2014, 03:56 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Everyone is different ,it does not bother me at all .

If I wanted to drink ,I would - don't want to .
Old 05-11-2014, 03:56 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Firesong, I'm about 2 months into sobriety, please don't ask me to go to a bar
It is difficult enough without the added pressure at this point. Don't even mention it because then I would feel like I am ruining your plans. Do you see where I am coming from?
Old 05-11-2014, 04:19 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Lemme tell you how I feel about sports bars. They SUCK.