Notices

The nursing world

Old 04-12-2014, 11:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The nursing world

First and foremost I want to thank you all here. I trolled this website a looooong time before getting clean and sober. I had an oxycodone addiction which is what brought me searching here in the first place, I later learned that I am an alcoholic and the pills just didn't seem to smell as bad in the workplace, but I digress. Little about me: I'm a nurse currently going through the board of nursing, sobriety has been hard. I've got six months off of pills and over two from alcohol and I am absolutely enamored by it. I wanted to post this because this site helped me but I never saw any nurses identifying themselves on here, so I figure I should. Y'all are amazing
Old 04-12-2014, 12:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

welcome,

well there are plenty of nurses here,, trust me on that, and even a few doctors too. i am in the nursing world too. i known many nurses who developed an drug addiction simply due the easy access we have to strong pain medication. i seen several nurses not only lose there jobs but place there professional license at risk on top of that. i seen some get lectured for taking antibiotics for that common cold or flu, but most of the time managers i noticed turn a blind eye on that. i never touched the pain medication, besides a tylenol here or there for my hang overs.

my choice was alcohol. i ended with drinking heavy for about 2 or 3 year period. finally i had one of those sick and tired or sick and tired mornings. i tried AA and that was not my cup of Tea. so this place was a great help. the chat room offers real time chat for support and conversations. so check it out. addiction can be very strong, but your will power can be stronger.
Old 04-12-2014, 12:45 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

hey robgt, when somebody asks you if you want a beer, do you say, "Homey don't do dat!" ?
Old 04-12-2014, 01:53 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Community Greeter