Notices

st. patrick's day

Old 03-14-2014, 12:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

st. patrick's day

st. patrick's day in chicago is a HUGE celebration of drinking. sure, there is corned beef and cabbage, but most of the parties revolve around drinking. as this is my first year sober, i find myself very anxious concerning the upcoming few days.

sunday i am taking a corned beef to my sisters for a little party after the parade. my sister's home has a bar that i loved to drink at. and i loved drinking with my sister, too. but i want to be with my family and i have survived situations in the past, i am just uneasy not because i am worried i will drink, but because of the strong emotions i will need to sit through. i understand that it is something i need to learn to tolerate, i am just expressing my fear here because if i express it to certain people in my life, they tell me i can drink and it isn't a big deal. so i know going to them isn't the best plan.

i plan on focusing on all the good being sober has produced. i plan on reviewing my goals, exercising that morning. i am not going to look towards being sober as a punishment, but as a blessing nor am i going to force myself to relive any of the troubles that drinking previously caused me. hopefully the positive can shine some bright on the dark.
Old 03-14-2014, 04:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Even during my 25 years of daily drinking I always considered New Years Eve, Super Bowl, St. Patrick's Day, Cinco De Mayo and any other "drinking holiday" all bull crap excuses for amateurs to have a few drinks.

Real alcoholics need no excuse to drink.

The media has made it look like you are not cool if you don't drink on these occasions.

Enjoy the day and the corned beef on March 17. I will be without the beer.
Old 03-14-2014, 05:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Recovering ostrich

Ah, yes. Luck of the Irish! Think of how awesome it will be to be one of the few without a hangover! And not feeling cruddy for work on Monday!