Notices

Long term drinker

Old 03-04-2014, 01:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Long term drinker

I have been drinking virtualy every day for the past six years, most days I just have a few vodka's to help me chill in the evening after work, but other days I go on binges and drink myself senseless.
I never keep alcohol in the house and only buy small amounts every day, as I have no will power after a few drinks and end up drinking the lot!

I know I have to quit drinking after a recent heart attack, but struggle to pass an off licence in the evening, as I live alone and find the evening hard work just sitting around watching tv.

Old 03-04-2014, 02:31 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

“A strong man cannot help a weaker unless the weaker is willing to be helped, and even then the weak man must become strong of himself; he must, by his own efforts, develop the strength which he admires in another. None but himself can alter his condition.”
-James Allen
Old 03-04-2014, 02:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I think a long term sobriety plan is best.

Are you seeking additional then SR? I am going to an addiction clinic next monday. Took me a lot to admit I was failing on my own. But just making the call for an appointment gave me a bit of hope.

Maybe you need some extra support as well?
Old 03-04-2014, 03:31 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Cumb, so is that what your gong to do? Stop drinking?
Old 03-04-2014, 03:57 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome cumbrianguy. We all understand just how you feel. I hope you'll stay and keep posting - there is a lot of support & encouragement here.

I had to stop all together because I was like you. Once I got a few in my system there was no telling where it would stop. You'll feel so much better with it out of your life.
Old 03-04-2014, 04:14 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

I hope the support here can help you stop drinking for good.
Old 03-04-2014, 04:24 PM
  # 7 (permalink)