Notices

First time quitting

Old 01-21-2014, 07:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First time quitting

I'm not sure if I'm alcoholic or not, but I don't think it matters. I still need to stop.

I've been drinking regularly (weekends only) for about 10 or 12 years.

I started having pain in my right side (about 9 months ago), after a few months of near-daily drinking. Some days I would just have one, others I would drink half a bottle. I had never experienced back/side pain before so I did some detective work... Oh... your liver is on your right side... no wonder...

But I just kept drinking. In November I realized I was going to die (eventually) if I kept this up. The liver pain was always there and I had gained a bunch of weight and was miserable. I started to cut down, making sure I had at least 48 hours between binges, and tried to stick to the daily limits. I went from 6 days a week, to 5, to 4, to 3, over the course of 6 weeks.

I decided to take January off alcohol, something I've never done before. I had a few days of mild anxiety and fatigue, but no shakes or any other detox symptoms. I got my liver enzymes checked by my doc... and they were normal!! I should have been relieved, but I just thought something else must be wrong. He explained to me that it's like being punched and feeling pain before a bruise shows up, and that it's only a matter of time until I do some serious damage. I consider myself lucky.

I went 2 weeks sober, starting feeling really great, then thought "I can reward myself with a drink, just one." I ended up drinking quite a bit and had a nasty hangover the next day, complete with really bad liver pains.

So, here I am. The other day I was offered a beer when I was at someone's house and I didn't know what to say, so I drank it. I can't keep telling people I'm off the sauce for only January because January is going to be over. And I don't want to tell people I have a problem with drinking. I guess I could say it's for health reasons...