Notices

Timeline for physical healing?

Old 12-17-2013, 04:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Timeline for physical healing?

Greetings,

I know everyone is different and their healing timeline is different. I have read up on PAWS and some of the psychological and emotional healing when one has started abstinence from alcohol.

I haven't been able to find any timeline for general physical healing, such as organ repair.

Does anyone have any resources on the timeline for our bodies healing?

Be Kind to Yourself,
FLBG
Old 12-17-2013, 05:10 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

This is just my experience....my stomach issues usually clear up after about a week and a half and so do the pains in the kidneys and liver area. My liver pains tend to get worse in early sobriety then get better and I have a dull ache for a good few weeks on and off.

I'm not a doctor but I'm fairly sure a healthy liver takes 6 weeks to regenerate. An abused liver will take longer. I have all my levels checked fairly regularly with blood tests and I advise others to do the same.

When I am sober, I am super healthy and do everything I can to help my body out. Lots of natural foods like broccoli, tomatoes, spirulina, flaxseeds and milk thistle all help the liver a long...plus plenty of green tea! Fatty foods will also hinder your liver health.
Old 12-17-2013, 05:37 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by FLBeachGuy View Post

I haven't been able to find any timeline for general physical healing, such as organ repair.

Does anyone have any resources on the timeline for our bodies healing?
you will never get this question answered perfectly
because
everyone is different in their recovery and healing time
some heal fast and complete
others at times suffer permanent damage from the abuse done to themselves
best to see a doctor for an full evaluation
then
follow his or her advice and start taking good care on yourself

there are three areas of healing needed
body - soul - mind
daily work on all three is a good idea