Notices

Here I am

Old 12-12-2013, 07:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Here I am

After snooping around this message board for months I have finally decided to join and begin my recovery journey with you all. I have been battling alcoholism for the past 6 years. I have had my ups and downs, never going more than a few weeks without a beer and as a rule having 6+ beers a day. Somehow I have not gotten in trouble with the law nor hurt myself or someone else.

Here I am. Ready, able and willing to change my life. I am a few months away from turning 30 and I refuse to not live another day. I hope all of you realize how powerful your stories and words of encouragement are. I look forward to what lies ahead, not looking back, not feeling sorry for myself; rather flourishing in what awaits me.

-MG
Old 12-12-2013, 07:25 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey marvin! Welcome . . .you have come to the right place for support. Wish you well in your recovery process. I am pretty new to this also. Today is day 20 for me and i am feeling pretty good.
Old 12-12-2013, 07:28 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

One of my favorite Monopoly properties. Welcome!

Old 12-12-2013, 07:32 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hello, and Welcome! I am in my second month of sobriety, hang in there. It is going to be rough at first, but it will pass in time. There are some great resources here, and in the fellowship of AA if you choose. I am on the boards, going to meetings and seeing a therapist. Take the suggestions you think will work for you. Enjoy the road!
Old 12-12-2013, 08:25 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Grateful to be free

The word "battling" jumped out at me in the opening post.

For me, laying down the fight (which kept me actively engaged in drinking/drugging) and surrendering was a key. Like, hey, I'm not going to win. I'm not going to tame this, manage it, etc...I'm going to walk away and put my life and energy into something else.