Notices

Dwelling on drinking

Old 11-18-2013, 01:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Dwelling on drinking

I've been sober 16 months. Haven't had a drop.

Problem is that the last two months I've been thinking of drinking all day. I talk myself out of it, because I'd be so disappointed and angry at myself not to mention my family and boss would be upset.

I've even gone to the store to price the cheapest vodka. Then sat and thought for a long time what I'd mix it with.

I've called my psychiatrist and told him so he prescribed naltrexone again. I'm not sure if it helped the last time I used it. We'll see.

My question is: What can I do to get out of this mindset? I don't want to ruin my sobriety and I know that if I start again it will be the death of me, literally.

Any help is appreciated.
Old 11-18-2013, 04:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I am new to this, so I am not sure if I would be much help. BUT, I wanted you to know that I feel your pain. It has been a week for me and it's all I think about. I keep reading books that help keep me motivated. I just read "Drinking: A Love Story", Allen Carr's "Quitting Drinking the Easyway," "Drunkard." I watched the movie Flight last night. I have read a few more books on the topic but I can't remember the titles. I could get them to you if you would like. This kind of thing helps me, I am not sure if it would you. Also, yoga, meditation, running help me as well. Just some thoughts from a newbie. Good luck, I am rooting for you!
Old 11-18-2013, 05:54 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks for the offer, very kind of you. I'll go to the library and get them. Wouldn't dream of you getting them to me.

The books will help I'm sure. That will give me something to occupy my mind. Thanks for the suggestions.
Old 11-18-2013, 06:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Taking naltrexone now sounds like you are setting yourself up to drink. It's only effective if you drink right?

If you go to meetings, go.
If you have a sponsor, talk to them.