SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Alcoholism (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/)
-   -   What withdrawal symptoms lastest the longest for you? (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/310070-what-withdrawal-symptoms-lastest-longest-you.html)

CourageTO 10-08-2013 10:37 PM

What withdrawal symptoms lastest the longest for you?

Hello everyone my name is John and I am new to sobriety. 17 days to be exact and damn proud of myself. After suffering numerous legal and personal issues the withdrawal finally knocked some sense into me. I ended up have a seizure and went to detox. It was only my 4th time there, they knew me by name at this point. Well, the seizure was the last straw. I remember nothing except waking up with nurses around me. I chewed up a good party of my tongue and knocked my head pretty well because I fell off a bunk bed. That is a scary thought. Anyways, I am 23 years old. If I already suffered a seizure at this age I would not make it to see 30. I was drinking about a 5th of vodka (750ml) and a 6 pack a day. I have been drinking since I was 14. 17 days sober now! Wow. Well, a lot of my anxiety has went down but the symptoms that are still persistent as of now are the shaky hands, hot/cold flashes, and sweaty sticky palms. It is strange. I can wash my hands and they will start sweating and it feels sticky? Did anyone else have these symptoms? I know this can persist for months after but just wanted to hear your experiences. Thank you and it feels good to be here.

seahorse661 10-08-2013 11:22 PM

hi,
well done on 17 days! Anxiety was the last symptom to leave me

Whiterhino24 10-08-2013 11:37 PM

at 20 days I am still experiencing dizziness and anxiety but every day I feel those symptoms are leaving me and I feel better every day.

Wastinglife 10-08-2013 11:53 PM