Notices

Alcohol withdrawal.

Old 08-22-2013, 12:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcohol withdrawal.

Hi. My name is Michael and I'm new to this forum. I've been drinking on and off since I was 17 years old. I'm now 27. For the last two months, I've been binge drinking for 3 nights in a row, then allowing myself to have 5 days off from drinking. The last time I drank was 3 nights ago, and ever since then, I've been having trouble focusing on what people are saying while watching television. I can hear what they are saying and follow the conversations, but..it doesn't really seem to click in my mind, if that makes any sense at all. Also, I'm having trouble reading things. I'll have to read things over and over again before it makes sense. I've been taking a vitamin b complex supplement for 3 months, and I usually eat 3 times a day. I also try to exercise whenever I can. My anxiety levels are high and I'm experiencing intermittent depression. All of these symptoms are worse at night. Have I permanently damaged my brain, or is this common with alcohol withdrawal? I've experienced this before, and it usually goes away after awhile, but it still scares me. Another symptom that is bothering me, is that I don't feel like I'm fully here, like I'm disassociated with my mind and body. Everything is too loud and too bright. Has anyone else experienced these symptoms before? I'd also like to add that when I do watch television, the screenplay sort of looks off, like it's fabricated. Could I be overreacting?
Old 08-22-2013, 01:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
EndGame

Hi Michael.

What you're describing sounds like derealization, a symptom common in panic attacks, or depersonalization, a psychiatric syndrome considered to be a disorder characterized by a number of symptoms, and often described as only one or two symptoms of a larger disorder.