Notices

1 Year!!

Old 07-27-2013, 02:38 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

1 Year!!

Wow I can't believe I have made it a whole year without a drink. Early days were tough and I still come here a lot and read all your posts. I was in and out of AA for almost 3 years trying to stop drinking which included 5 detoxes and a 4 month rehab... All of which I drank after.

I woke up after a week into another relapse, drinking cask wine from morning to night remembering the 'good old days' but the party was over and I had to surrender... I did 90 meetings in 90 days, got a sponsor and a home group and set off on my journey... I studied (fitness), i'm now a qualified pt but work in a different 'more stable' industry, so life is good.

It's been tough but I got here, the only thing i'm having trouble with is my social life... Or lack of it lol. I am a shy kind of nervous guy and I always have been and that's where alcohol REALLY worked as I used to be the life of the party and could talk to anyone. I had the huge ego / low self esteem, even my ex wife would always say I loved myself more than her and she did not trust me with other women but the opposite was true. I avoid just about all family bbq's and birthdays. Meeting women scares the crap out of me, I joined a dating site have a great profile and pics yet I cant' even get enough courage to call lol. I just can't socialize like a 'normal' person and I really want to. I even get nervous trying to hold conversations in aa . I'm 31 fit and healthy and I should be out meeting new people and enjoying life sober but I can't. I go to the gym, cycle and work and that's it, my weekends usually consist of nothing lol... Which is sometimes good.

Anyway i'd like to thank everyone here for helping me, I have read so many inspiring posts here...

Bring on year number 2...

Cheers
Old 07-27-2013, 02:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Congrats and Happy Birthday!
Old 07-27-2013, 02:44 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Congrats on one year, that is awesome!