Notices

How much of your life were you drinking?

Old 07-09-2013, 09:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How much of your life were you drinking?

My sister just said, "I'm an alcoholic" after a year of habitual drinking, and a month of drinking about a bottle of wine a night.

Me? I've been drinking for 35 years. All this time I've been in therapy, taking meds, etc... I'm habituated to it.

I'm used to it. I am not sure I can function without it. I'd really like to hear from somebody who's spent 35 years of their life drinking, and became accustomed to sobriety.

Thanks!
Old 07-09-2013, 09:38 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I drank for thirty years. I drank well, I'm told, but I knew I was an alcoholic hiding my problem in plain sight. Drinking beer was a part of me. I've been sober for two years and I am now accustomed to it. It's amazing, really.
Old 07-09-2013, 10:01 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

i'm 40. i first got passed-out-throwing-up drunk at age 9.

quite the drinking career.
Old 07-09-2013, 10:05 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi Freedance,