Notices

HATE the loneliness

Old 04-26-2013, 06:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

HATE the loneliness

Would be so easy to call one of my old drinking friends and "get together". Cuz as you know....they are always up for it! I feel my world has become so small....some days it is a blessing because my great big alcoholic world was chaotic, regretful and destructive. But there are days...and God knows this is one of them, when the isolation I feel , seems so much bigger than all of that...this is one of those days I am not temtped to drink necessarily, but trying to remember why I stopped. The sober , healthy me knows that it is Friday night, and I will wake up in the morning and be ok. But it can make for ONE LONG NIGHT
Old 04-26-2013, 06:43 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi there I hear you I am pretty new to this sober life, and I felt the same this Friday night. I told my husband I feel like I used alcohol to escape reality for a awhile or it was my reward for working all week. I got out of the house and got my mind off of myself and stop thinking about how I feel. I know that for that very short period of drinking gives me much misery and that is what is keeping me sober but I won't lie it is a adjustment. I am looking forward to gaining some more energy and putting that towards new projects or hobbies that will give me true fulfillment. (Horseback riding, gardening, cooking.) best of luck to you and everyone to find ourselves again.
Old 04-26-2013, 06:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Red face

Thank you for your reply, and so very happy you are finding your way in sobriety. I will never regret taking this road, but I lost my marriage to this monster, my kids are grown and I live alone, it is a daily decision that a life alone , sober, is so so so much better than a life spent drunk. I do identify with the reasons you think you drank. Stay strong on this road, it is worth every step!!!

AA didn't teach me how to live with my drinking, but how to live with my sobriety.