Notices

So frustrated

Old 04-17-2013, 10:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

So frustrated

I'm 20, in college, and I live with my parents. When I relapsed (8 weeks ago), my mother decided to take my phone and computer away, making it insanely hard to communicate with anyone. I work as a tutor, and often I NEED my phone to communicate with the people I'm tutoring regarding meeting times, etc. I've already missed 4 tutoring appointments and it is making me look back, and threatening my position as a tutor.

I have accepted that I live with my parents and that comes with a lot of rules, etc. and I have been just fine without my phone and my computer, but now that It's threatening the only job I have, how can I convince my mom to give my phone back?

Also, I'M SUPER FRUSTRATED because I hate missing things and letting people down, etc. And I'm in the middle of the library feeling like I'm about to cry, I would love some words of peace right now if anyone has any good suggestions..
Old 04-17-2013, 11:12 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Did the phone and computer have something to do with your relapse? If not, it sounds punitive. But they are probably at wit's end trying to come up with something that works to help keep you sober.

Tell your mom what you told us. It's impacting your job. The two of you work out a plan that will allow you to be accountable. Is there something else you will "trade" for the phone privilage.

Perhaps it's time for them to get to an Al-anon meeting.
Old 04-17-2013, 11:15 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

My phone and computer had absolutely nothing to do with my relapse. My mother knows that I am attached to those two things, so she wanted to take them away to hurt me as much as I hurt her (well, this is my theory anyway).