Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism
Reload this Page >

So ashamed that I keep hiding my drinking from my husband

Notices

So ashamed that I keep hiding my drinking from my husband

Old 03-25-2013, 08:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy So ashamed that I keep hiding my drinking from my husband

I thought I could do it, but I fell off the wagon again. I admitted to my husband 3 weeks ago how I drank in secret and hid bottles from him and he understood and said he supported my decision to quit drinking. So, I've been going to AA meetings, but I was only sober for 2 days before I started drinking again hiding my alcohol from him. While he's in the living room, I go off to the spare bedroom to get drunk for hours at a time. I'm a writer, so I can get away with telling him that I'm writing (which I do in the spare bedroom by myself with the door closed anyway). And he's always been respectful of not interrupting me when I'm writing (while sober). But the past 3 weeks I haven't been doing much writing. I've been in the spare room for hours, drinking by myself-not doing much of anything else. I broke my promise to him again, and to myself. How can I admit that I'm doing this again? I can't believe I'm hiding alcohol from him again and LYING to him, telling him I've been sober since I've been in AA for the past 3 weeks. I'm so ashamed of myself. I love my hubby so much and he means the world to me. What the hell is wrong with me?
Old 03-25-2013, 08:48 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Sounds like Alcoholism to me-I hid my drinking or thought I did for a loooong time. I really thought my wife did not know. She did, she was willing to wait till I got honest with her and myself. Only when I did that was I able to move forward in my sobriety. Oh and the part about my wife being my world was just another dishonest part of me--ALCOHOL was my world, my lover and my master.
Old 03-25-2013, 09:26 AM
  # 3 (permalink)