Notices

Questions???

Old 03-20-2013, 04:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Questions???

This is my first time posting in this forum. I have posted in the substance abuse forum because of an old boyfriend, but I have a few questions about a friend of mine and his drinking. He and I are really good friends. We talk several times during the day and we can talk about everything. He has told me that he had a pretty severe drinking problem a few years ago. Now, he says he drinks beer and wine only because he says he doesn't drink "liquor" anymore because he gets out of control and he only drinks beer and wine at home, he doesn't go out and drink anymore. He gets drunk with certain family members so he figures he's safe. I've seen him drink an entire bottle of wine within an hour or two. When I bring up the subject of alcohol, he gets defensive. He says things like I'm not in a liquor store now! I tell him just because he's not drinking all day long every day does not mean that he doesn't have a problem with alcohol. Is my thinking wrong? Is there a difference is "liquor" and beer and wine? I think it's all the same. I've never been a drinker, so I just don't know a lot about alcoholism. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Old 03-20-2013, 05:09 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

It IS all the same, but most alcoholics go through this drill of changing what they drink in an attempt to "control" their drinking or to convince themselves they don't have to quit. Obviously, it doesn't work.

Incidentally, lots of beer/wine drinkers switch to hard liquor for the same reason--reasoning that they will drink less. Same result--they may consume fewer drinks, but more alcohol. The disease of alcoholism doesn't care what form the alcohol takes. It gets worse no matter what you drink, when you drink it, where you drink, what you are wearing when you drink.
Old 03-20-2013, 11:24 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Cool