Notices

When I drink...

Old 01-28-2013, 05:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
All is Change

When I drink...

...I drink because I'm an alcoholic.
When I don't drink it's because I'm an alcoholic.
I'm not happy at the moment. I choose to deal with it by not drinking.
It sucks. I'm not good at it. Probably if I hadn't spent decades not dealing with it by drinking I'd be better at it today.
Old 01-28-2013, 05:58 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm more than just a label such as 'alcoholic' and so are you.

For starters, I'm a man, a father, husband, employee, home owner, vehicle owner, vacationer, mens league hockey player, addict in active recovery, Atheist, Social Conservative, avid reader, SR member etc...

That there's the truth.
Old 01-28-2013, 06:44 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
CastAwayWolf

Grymt,

I think I know how you feel. I quit drinking 7 days ago and right now I don't think I'll ever feel happy or energetic again. I went to 2 AA meetings and then to see a counselor last Thursday but other than that haven't left the house.

Had to give my wife my money and debit card so I wouldn't be tempted to buy alcohol...how sorry is that?!

Hang in there.
Old 01-28-2013, 07:10 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Being sober is so much more than being free of alcohol. I had to learn to be happy with myself, otherwise being dry didn't really help me much. For most of us, I think this means we have to work on ourselves or we'll end up dry and miserable or drinking again. I had to clear out all the guilt, shame, anger, insecurities, fears, and selfishness that led me to drink in the first place so that I could be free and happy with who I was. I learned how to do this in AA, but as will be pointed out to you, there are many paths to sobriety. It sounds like you're at what AA literature calls the jumping off point: can't imagine life with alcohol and can't imagine life without alcohol.

But it's definitely not hopeless. This forum is living proof that happy sobriety is possible!
Old 01-28-2013, 09:06 AM