Notices

Greetings - And Thank You!

Old 12-24-2012, 08:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Greetings - And Thank You!

Hello all, I just wanted to introduce myself. For some reason I have been a lurker on this site for over a year, and have just never created an account. Reading everyones experiences over the past year has been a great help in my recovery, so I say thank you!

Like many of you, my drinking was a progressive experience. I feel very fortunate that I really didn't start drinking until well after college when I was 24 or 25. Had this disease had gotten its grips on me during school time I'm not sure I would have been able to complete an engineering degree and get my career started on the right path.

After I graduated (and moved out on my own), I was struggling with coming out as a gay man. I had felt so alone living a lie, and when I actually started to hit the bars and clubs and meet new friends, I really felt like I didn't fit in with "gay culture" either. But the alcohol helped...

Eventually I moved into the city, and things were going really well. The drinking was mostly weekends, but progressed to the nightly cocktails with little negative consequences. I was a daily drinker for about 5-6 years, and again, there were very few consequences.

I then went through a period with a couple of friends where we started using some recreational drugs a few times a month. The introduction of stimulants definitely triggered a huge increase in the quantity of alcohol I was consuming.

After about a year, I realized this was a very wrong path and cut myself off from those so called friends, and the drugs... but the drinking continued, and progressed.

I was going through a bit of a difficult time, I had decided to purchase a home, and it was very stressful and didn't go well because of the crazy real estate collapse. I look back on it now and I think how silly it was to have gotten so upset, but realize that the alcohols depressive effects had taken hold.