Notices

Alcohol, diaxepam and kindling

Old 12-22-2012, 02:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcohol, diaxepam and kindling

Has anyone noticed or have any comments on diazepam after heavy alcohol consumption, and kindling?

I have been drinking for 30 years, heavily and daily about 5 years in my 30’s, then heavily again for a couple of years in my 40’s. About 3 years ago I decided for health reasons to cut my drink down, and for 3 years I’ve been drinking 3 to 4 days a week, with one big day a week, (big day is one to two bottles of wine). Also 3 years ago I was prescribed diazepam and it didn’t take long before I worked out that if I woke in the middle of the night, after a my big drinking day, that quarter to a whole diazepam would relieve the symptoms. I was careful and for three years and I used diazepam no more than once a week, no more than one tablet, (10mg) and only in the middle of the night after the alcohol had dropped.

Then about a month ago I decided to stop the once a week diazepam. The first night after my weekly binge was horrific; I thought my heart was going to burst out of my chest. I had to give in and take diazepam. The next day I read about kindling and was scared, so I decided to reduce my binge to one bottle of wine, spread over 5 hours, (which seems not too bad compared to what I've been capable of in the past). Again I woke in the middle of the night with my heart pounding and having had a very vivid scary dream.

I think I have symptoms of repeated withdrawals from my once a week binge, (kindling), which possibly the diazepam has either masked, reduced or even increased.

Has anyone else noticed anything like this?
Thanks!
Old 12-22-2012, 05:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
~sb

Why not talk with your doctor about detoxing from both alcohol and diazepam? It just sounds like a heart attack waiting to happen here.
Old 12-22-2012, 07:06 AM
  # 3 (permalink)