Notices

12 step call?

Old 12-01-2012, 06:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

12 step call?

Any fellow AA's out there ever go on a 12 step call?

I was at a meeting earlier and somebody brought up the 12 step call, and I was amazed at how few people had ever done one, or even knew what it was.. Maybe it's just my area, but probably not, I tend to find that AA is largely the same in different geographical areas, just different faces.

I'd like to hear some E-S-&-H about the 12 step call, as I'd like to have the opportunity to start doing them. Where do you begin? Is it passive, nowadays?

I'll shut up and listen, thanks!
Zube
Old 12-01-2012, 06:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Trudger of Happy Destiny

Interesting topic, indeed! I do not have any personal stories offhand...but would also love to hear any!
Old 12-01-2012, 07:54 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I've no personal experience myself but I wonder if maybe they're needed less these days with everyone using the internet? You can find out about meetings online, what happens at them etc, what to expect, etc.
Old 12-01-2012, 08:39 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Over the years I've been to lots of 12 step calls. I started out in a really hard-core group and you _did_ go on 12 step calls and nobody ever asked whether I _wanted_ to.

I'm glad they didn't ask, or I would have missed out on some powerful lessons in recovery.

My sponsor at the time.... in fact... now that you guys brought up the topic, _all_ my sponsors have been very active in that way. They're on the hotline, so I get called in the middle of the night "Hey, I'll be there in 15 minutes, be ready".

Sure enough, here comes my sponsor with a couple other of his sponsees and off we go. By the way, the general suggestion is _never_ go on your own, and always take somebody who's got a _lot_ of experience in this type of work.