Notices

New and in need of advice

Old 07-07-2012, 11:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New and in need of advice

Hi! I signed up today in an attempt to learn from others and get a perspective on my drinking. Let me start by saying, I am weary of saying that I want to quit drinking all together. I need to stop BINGE drinking. But is this the same thing? I am a 28 year old graduate student and I also work as a server at a restaurant. I have always been a social drinker. Over the years, it has gone from drinking on the weekends to drinking a few nights a week. It also has changed from having hangovers and swearing to never drink again, to being able to drink the next morning to cure the hangover. This does not happen everyday, however, the instances are getting closer and closer together. I have a boyfriend and we have been to together for almost a year and are in a very healthy, loving relationship. He is also a partier. We have a lot of friends who are constantly asking us to come out "for one drink". It also doesn't help that we are friends with a lot of people I work with and having a shift drink after a serving shift is easy to do with a bar right there. Needless to say, that "one drink" always turns into more and we usually end up being the last ones at the bar. This has affected my graduate internship and his job because we have been late or missed days. We both have gained weight from not only the drinks but then binge eating on hangover days. We have not saved any money because we are constantly spending it on food and drink. This is the first time in my life I have started to be a little late on bills. I have turned in some homework late and got my first "B" in graduate school this past semester after two years of straight A's. I spend a lot of time worrying and feeling anxious about my drinking, having no money, gaining weight, our future, having kids, etc. I want to have a good future and don't want alcohol to be the biggest part of my life, however, is it nece