Notices

12 Days Sober...

Old 05-29-2012, 03:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

12 Days Sober...

Hi guys, so basically my background is I've been drinking heavily and doing a variety of drugs 4-5 times a week for the past 8 years since I was 16. At first I told myself that I didn't have a problem because it wasn't every night, however on a recent kick to try and sort myself out I realised I couldn't get there unless I cut it out. I did my last hard drug about 5 months ago, don't remember the day but thats not important, and since then had been suffering from anxiety which culminated in a massive panic attack at work. So I decided I needed to cut it all out, so I haven't had a drink or joint now for 12 days.

ANYWAY, the point of this is I've been experiencing things which I'm not used to and I'm interested to see if anyone else has felt the same way, as it would help me feel less anxious about it!

The first few days sucked, I didn't feel good at all, but that was fine, its easy to deal with feeling awful, the problem I have now is I think I'm starting to feel good again and its causing lots of anxiety! It feels as if someone has switched my vision from normal to HD and everything is a lot more vivid. I feel incredibly overstimulated when I go out and I have to work through it to stay calm.

The other thing is with the drop in blood pressure and not feeling my heart pound all the time it scares me that I can't hear it and I panic that its not working, reaching for my wrists all the time to check I still have a pulse.

Plus the general feeling of feeling lighter and less weighed down, it just feels like theres so much going on its hard to focus.

The urge to go get smashed and dope myself back up to stop feeling things is the hardest thing to overcome but I'm determined to struggle through this.

So yeah apologies for the ramble, but did anyone else feel anything similar whilst sobering up?
Old 05-29-2012, 03:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)