Notices

this normal?

Old 05-15-2012, 01:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
hab

this normal?

So I've been drinking a bottle of wine (almost) everyday for the past 6-7 years. About two-three months ago I started drinking a 1L bottle a day (instead of the regular 750ml). Always while cooking , during and after supper.
I knew exactly where this was going, and four weeks ago I've decided to quit. Cold turkey. I had no symptoms, other then cravings while cooking or during supper. Sleep was way way better, and I felt a lot less tired. I'm not overweight, I try to stay in shape, and I'm in good health.
In these last four weeks I drank socially three times, when out with friends.
What scared me and pissed me off is that when I quit, I felt really depressed for about 4-5 days after I had the last drink. Usually I'm never depressed. And when I drank again those three times, same thing happened, I was depressed again for 4-5 days after.
Is this normal? I can deal with the cravings, and physically I have no other symptoms. But the depression thing I don't know how to deal with it other then never touching alcohol again? And of course I hate the feeling.
I'm not into going to see a doctor and get some pills because I know that it passes, and I know that if I don't touch alcohol at all, depression goes away naturally.
But this sucks.
And my question is, is it normal??
Old 05-15-2012, 02:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Everybody is different hab; a lot of folks have reported something similar to what you stated, but not all.

I guess the important thing--and the thing to be happy about--is that you know that it's a passing responce. It is also noteworthy that you had any responce of withdrawl at all--that, along with your recient increased consumption, might tell you a few things.

I wouldn't worry to much about what is or isn't normal in this case...just be relieved that you are in good health and you understand what is going on
Old 05-15-2012, 02:33 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator