Notices

Back again.

Old 03-22-2012, 01:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Back again.

You would think that someone who has received professional treatment would go on their merry way and live a sober and contented life.

Not so, as many of you here have probably experienced.

Of course the "first" step is recognizing the problem. That's easy. The hard part is DEALING with the problem.

Late nights of pure boredom are my biggest triggers. And I'm having one now.

Buying an 18-pack instead of a case of beer seems like progress lol. Last week I went on a full-on 4-day drinkfest. By the third day there was no enjoyment in the bend, just maintenance. Continue the grasp at a good buzz....

It used to be fun. Now it's drinking to get that 'buzz' back. That sense of escape that I think that a lot of us want, but can't find outside of a bottle.

I used to be a good musician, a good writer. But now it's all about chasing that 'good drunk'. That elusive feeling that underlies my addiction is slippery and ultimately destructive and short-lived.

Anyway, my family is committed to helping me (thank God) and I pray that I see sober horizons.

I thank everyone here on SR for helping me on my way. God Bless.
Old 03-22-2012, 01:59 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

'You would think that someone who has received professional treatment would go on their merry way and live a sober and contented life.'

No PP, I wouln't think that for a moment. They sold that to you as an answer and you bought it as most people do. It's actually next to useless.

Hopefully now you know now and won't go for the usual repeat performances. They got my money twice, but that was it.
Old 03-22-2012, 03:16 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by langkah View Post
'You would think that someone who has received professional treatment would go on their merry way and live a sober and contented life.'