Notices

My first AA meeting

Old 02-25-2012, 06:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My first AA meeting

To be honest, I'm a little intimidated. It's a huge challenge to the loner mentality that is as much a part of me as my own skin. I did share, and I listened to what everyone had to say. Everyone was much older than I am. After the meeting, a bunch of people came up to me and talked to me, gave me their numbers, told me about other meetings, etc. It was very thoughtful and kind of them. I can't knock that. But my instinct not to trust was firmly in place. This part of me wanted to run away. They gave me a copy of the "Big Book," because I'm new to the whole thing, which was very nice of them.

I feel guilty even saying this, because they were all clearly very caring and they all listened to what I had to say. A couple of people even told me about a weekly meeting for younger people, which I'll be checking out in a couple days. I did get something from the experience, and I think I'll attend next week, if only to simply not be rude. But I currently don't know how I feel about the whole thing. I guess I'm just in a state of confusion because of a few different elements (being so much younger than everyone, having to put myself out there, trusting people and finding a sponsor, the spiritual aspect of it all, etc.) But I'm trying to keep an open mind.
Old 02-25-2012, 06:58 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I understand. Good job on going. I gave it a try last year, got to the 4th step and quit. I just could not get into it, but I am thinking about giving it another go. I can definitely see that it works.
Congrats on your progress.
Old 02-25-2012, 07:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Luweez

Keep trying Noro. The more meetings you go to, the higher the chance you have of finding one that suits YOU. Good luck and keep us updated, you've got a pretty big cheering squad here rooting for you.
Old 02-25-2012, 07:29 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Another Day in Paradise