Notices

Moderation Management

Old 01-25-2012, 05:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Blu**ed Lines...A ClockWork SR

Moderation Management

Came across a post that mentioned moderation management. Thinking of trying it after a couple of months not drinking. Anyone have success with this? Any and all opinions welcome.
Old 01-25-2012, 05:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I have no experience with it.

With my drinking history I'd have to be insane to consider ways to keep alcohol in my life.

I know that they require 30 days total abstinence to start off with.

D
Old 01-25-2012, 05:35 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

We really should have a forum here just for this topic.....Drinking like normal people.
Old 01-25-2012, 05:39 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I'll be honest, alcohol scares me now. I know it wants to kill me so therefore moderation is not an option for me. I'm sure it may be possible for some but it seems like a big risk for those who have had problems with it in the past.
Old 01-25-2012, 05:45 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

If I drink one drink....I'm toast. I like knowing that.
Old 01-25-2012, 06:00 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by ElegantlyWasted View Post
Came across a post that mentioned moderation management. Thinking of trying it after a couple of months not drinking. Anyone have success with this? Any and all opinions welcome.
Why would you want to drink in moderation? When I drank, I almost always did so for one purpose: to get drunk. If by "moderation" you mean "only getting drunk once a month," or something like that, then you should be asking yourself why you want to get drunk in the first place. After all, getting drunk is terribly unhealthy, and carries with it significant moral, social and physical risk. Meanwhile, the supposed benefits are aimed at temporarily satisfying a craving at the cost of increasing that craving in the long-term.