Notices

Long term effects

Old 01-24-2012, 09:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Long term effects

Hey, was just wondering if anyone here who's been sober for a long time has had any long lasting effects or if you quit alcohol do you return mostly to normal? Pretty vague question I know, I just can't seem to get a clear answer when I look around on the internet.
Old 01-24-2012, 09:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I can't share personal experience since I'm still a newbie (despite joining 2 years ago), from what I've read and heard from others, there are 3 or 4 major changes.
1 week: alcohol is out of your system (been through that, the first few days are hell)
1 month: your body starts to adjust, during the first 21 days there is a risk of DT's so be careful.
3 months: your brain starts to function sober
1 year: most of the darkness lifts

Some of the long term sober members can add to this or disagree, plus keep in mind, we're all different.
Old 01-25-2012, 05:30 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Gertron. My brain & body were really screwed up by the time I quit in March 2011. Physically I was so bloated with alcohol & had horribly scary lower body numbness/tingling. Sometimes I would stand up & could hardly feel my lower body Those things started going away in the first few weeks. Lots of other little physical issues went away too. The shakes, bathroom issues, red face...

Mentally I am lots better too. Just the peace of mind that I gained with sobriety, the ability to deal with life as it comes to me, good or bad. I am so very thankful for my sobriety. I'm sure I would be dead by now had I not quit when I did.

How are you? What are your thoughts on it?
Old 01-25-2012, 07:29 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

One lasting effect is I'm a lot happier, a lot more appreciative of the simple things in life.
Old 01-25-2012, 08:01 AM
  # 5 (permalink)