Notices

down and out

Old 01-23-2012, 08:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

down and out

I'm a newbie, who has completely spiraled. My drinking is completely ruining my life. I have broke my mom's heart - she used to have a drinking problem, but quit 15 years ago. My dad was a raging alcoholic for 60 years. I can't understand how I let it get this bad. I sneak wine, beer, hard booze - anything. I started drinking before work sometimes. I just ruined a trip to CA with my mom. Her first time there, because I couldn't stop. She finally caught me and I fessed up to everything. Then as soon as we got home, I started again. My little brother is disgusted with me because I seem like a zombie most of the time. I used to have energy and care about things, and now I just feel completely devastated. I am going to go to a meeting today and see how it goes. I just wish I could just take everything back and start fresh.
Old 01-23-2012, 09:11 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Trudging that road.

Don't worry if you stop and get into a life of recovery in a short while this will all seem like a bad dream.
So glad to hear you are going to a meeting but please try to listen to the similarities and not the differences like I did when i first started going.
At the meetings I go to they always ask for newcomers at the start of the meeting try to introduce yourself and hopefully they will get a meeting schedule passed around for some phone numbers. The best thing you can do is get connected right away so when your head starts messing with you like it will you will have people to call.
SR is a great support place to try checking out some of the Gratitude threads and a really cool one that I love is the Whiners Anonymous thread lots of really cool supportive peeps there.
Come back and let us know how your meeting went or PM me I want to know what you thought or didn't think lol.
Old 01-23-2012, 09:23 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm sorry to hear that my friend..