Notices

Will they ever believe me again?

Old 01-02-2012, 07:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Will they ever believe me again?

Hi guys,

I am new to all of this, and I just feel like this is a place I can really speak to people who understand.

I have drank heavily since being 16. I used to confine it to drinking when I was out at weekends, and that didn't seem a problem. Everyone drank and I didn't, at that point, have a dependency. However, I went to university, and that is when alcoholism really got my by the throat. In my first year everyone told me I was 'the life and soul' of the party, as I was always drinking, having fun, getting drunk and being silly. However, I realised quickly my drinking was a problem as I started blacking out, missing lectures, waking up with bruises and cuts, losing mobile phones, wallets, etc. I went to a black tie party for my university and was sexually assaulted whilst drunk and hurt quite bad. That devastated me and I spent weeks in my room drinking myself stupid and crying basically.

I went back in my second year and I was then (looking honestly at it) a full blown alcoholic, as I drank a bottle of vodka every day. I tried to talk to a counsellor, but found the service was not to my liking. In December of that year (2008) my best friend staged an intervention and made me go home. At this point I was a total mess and my parents couldn't understand as I was a straight A student. I couldn't tell them about the drink or the assault, but I just asked them to support me.

I met a guy and he was a teetotal, and after seven months I moved in with him. It really helped that he didn't drink, but he hated it when I did. It always caused arguments. In January last year I left him after he cheated on me. He said he was so angry with me for constantly promising to give up and always getting drunk. It broke my heart.