Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Alcoholism Information > Alcoholism
Reload this Page >

A writer, a crossroads, winter, family and horses

Notices

Old 12-05-2011, 02:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

God. I've been a writer so long that I hardly know how to tell the truth, because I always start out telling a story.

I wrote till the tops wore off a dozen or so computer keyboards, mostly on marketing and advertising, writing beautiful pictures of what your life could become.

I have always been a hired gun, and a damned good one. An advertising copywriter. I could write things the devil himself would never have thought of, but would have bought with pure joy. Beautiful things. Compelling things.

My real voice? ..<fear>.. does anyone want to hear?

I get paid big bucks to say things I don't necessarily believe.

I get THE HAND when I try to speak the truth.

No one wants to engage with me, the person.

I want to write about my real experiences, but I'm seeing more and more the avalanche of narcissism in our culture that prevents anyone from seeing things outside themselves.

Christmas: eeek! I just sent over $1700 worth of presents to my ingrate, passive-aggressive family.

In times like these, alcohol seems like a rational friend. Because people... are crazy.
Old 12-05-2011, 02:18 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

And as to horses:

This May, my beloved quarter horse, Jimmy -- champion and blue ribbon idol for some 25 years -- died in my arms at home in Montana.

I miss her so. This morning when temps dropped well below zero, I mourned her, and praised God that she had the good sense to check out before another dastardly Montana winter. I miss her, though. And I hate myself for not making her last 5 years more fun.
Old 12-05-2011, 02:19 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I think there's still a lot of people who want to read about truth and honesty...I read a lot of biographies/autobiographies...I can tell the BS from the genuine ones.