Notices

Good bye old friend

Old 10-24-2011, 03:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Good bye old friend

First time here and just want to share my experience. I've been drinking for 20 years non stop and would consider myself an alcoholic.

I suppose I am one of those closet drinkers as I have been able to hold a steady career as a software engineer and at the same time hide my alcoholism from everyone around me. Although I suppose it was easy considering I made a considerable effort to alienate myself from other people for years just so I could drink with out feeling guilty. "I drink alone" was my motto. And alone did I drink!

I loved my alcohol so much that I have sacrificed most of my life to to appreciate my own drunkenness every day of my life. I'm not married and never had to deal with all that because I am a selfish drunk. Nobody was going to get in the way of my booze. Period. Alcohol was the only friend I needed.

for nearly two decades I have been drinking so much I do believe it has affected my mental ability in some ways and with age, I think the results are starting to show Physical problems are part of the package now also. I have gout attacks often.

It was a common schedule for me to drink a 24 case of beer or a 5th of whiskey within a day during the weekends. During the week I would drink 12-18 beers or a half a 5th every single night and be at work the next day. I was a very functional alcoholic.

I've never once tried to stop drinking. I liked it to much and there was no way I would ever stop.