Notices

Day one again

Old 10-24-2011, 03:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day one again

Hi All,

My first time here at soberrecovery.com not my first time trying to get sober...

I suppose i dont know where to start... I have a few problems some of which are related to the alcohol, others, well some i dont even know what causes them, and the others alcohol stops me from dealing with.

As my questions really span multiple forums on this site, i suppose ill start by telling you a little about me.

I have been drinking daily for the past 8 or 9 years, at first it started by picking up 4 small cans (fosters) to drink on an evening, gradually over these years its got to at least 8 pint cans (calsberg export) on an evening, and 'evening' as gradually started slipping into 'afternoon'.

Ive tried various sites/forums/chat rooms and exercises to try and stop in the past, I even tried AA for a short while (while the people there are amazing people, i really couldn't get my head around how AA helped, i could see through it)

I suppose i would really say that my drinking is more habit than addiction, but its a fine line i often find myself on either side of. Sometimes when I decide to stop that first night is easy, others not so, I can be tetchy,depressed,bored,annoyed... ect ect

So I stopped 2 days ago (was feeling terribly rough from the night before) and i found the night to be easy but i was awake within 3 hours of going to bed, with no signs of ever getting back to sleep.

Feeling totally sorry for myself yesterday i picked up 4 pint cans and had those, sleeping last night was no better, i was up again within 4 hours but managed to get to sleep off and on, eventually i got 8 hours, though it doesn't feel like it.