SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Alcoholism (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/)
-   -   How can I work AA if I can't make it to meetings? (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/alcoholism/239346-how-can-i-work-aa-if-i-cant-make-meetings.html)

GreenAces 10-23-2011 11:51 AM

How can I work AA if I can't make it to meetings?

So here is the predicament I am in. I am in the navy, I live on the boat, and we are gone most of the month anyways...

As most of you know I have been working the program for a couple years now, fell off a couple times, and keep trying to get back in to it..

This time around I have no car since I left it home the last time I went on leave.. The base meetings shut down due to low attendance, and there isn't anyone else on the boat that is in recovery,(that I know of atleast).

The nearest gate is about 4 miles away and it is getting annoying walking 8 miles to get to the gate just to meet someone to pick me up..

Now also we are gone every couple weeks for 2 weeks to a month, plus we have deployment coming up... I am surrounding by "friends/coworkers" that do nothing but drink when we pull in to places other then our home port.

So basically all I have is my BB and my journal. I try to stay close to God, and I try to atleast work the steps that I can alone, remembering what my old sponsor has told me, but everything else just doesnt work, I need to be in contact with another alcoholic.... Plus when I feel like crap and need to get stuff off my chest all I can do is pray and write about it in my journal, I don't have another alcoholic that I can unload some of this crap off on to and visa versa(or however you spell that lol)