Notices

Tired and need some direction

Old 09-11-2011, 03:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Tired and need some direction

Hello, I've been browsing in the site for a couple of months to see if I had a "problem" or try to match my experiences to others. Long and short is that I do have a problem with alcohol and abusing it. I'm not a morning drinker or drink every day however when I do 80% of the time I'll have too much and either black out or pass out. I have a wife and kids and am realizing that little kids absorb much more info that you think so seeing me drink is not a great way of life.

So I sit here after going on a 3 day little blitz (Friday) being the worst and yesterday I just had 4 or 5 to prevent the inevitable hangover, which is here. I didnt sleep at all last night and just feel a haze over my entire body with no motivation to do anything at all. I've done this before and promised myself that I'd never feel like this again but here I am.

I mostly am a weekend drinker and am fine with drinking beer but when it gets to wine or hard liquor, I'm done. I want to stop drinking but can only usually make it from Sunday night to Friday at around 4 o'clock but I need to change that for health reasons, work reasons and much much more. I'm not into AA as I've already been there I just think that I need to work on some of my triggers as its straight downhill from there.

I know the changes I have to make, some new friends, new places to go and new hobbies but I always seem to go back to old tried and true. Just wondering what you've done out there that helps you make it through the day/week/months. I think I know but sometimes the smallest trigger can lead to a couple days of boozing.

Thanks
Old 09-11-2011, 03:43 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hello JADIII!

Welcome to SR!

I did exactly the same as you, for exactly the same reasons. Started reading on SR in Nov 2010 and finally quit in August 2011.