Notices

New to Recovery - Marriage Difficulties

Old 08-26-2011, 01:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to Recovery - Marriage Difficulties

Hello,

I am new to SR and this is my first post. I have come to this forum for a very long time and have come to find support and to keep myself present in the recovery process.

I am 24 years old. I had been a binge drinker for years - with anxiety and a side of depression, along with a lack of coping skills that I feel drove me into a bad place, repeatedly. About two months ago I binged, ended up in the hospital and decided to get myself into an outpatient treatment program and I have to say that it has changed my life. I am almost through that process and starting out with a new personal therapist and getting involved in AA. Its new, and a bit scary and unfamiliar but I see that this is the right choice for me. For the first time in years I feel like I have a clear head on my shoulders.

There is one area that I am struggling in that is consuming a lot of my headspace and emotional energy. At age 21 I married my husband (who is now 26)- who has stayed by my side through three years of hell - abusive towards eachother, my drinking, infidelity - its as though we've crammed 30 years of relationship problems into three years! Though I know that our relationship issues were the glorious work of both of us and not simply one, finding a stride now is proving to be very uncomfortable and confusing for me.