Notices

DWI last night

Old 03-20-2011, 08:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy DWI last night

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here...just ran across this site today while I was searching for answers and support regarding my situation.

Last night I got my first DWI. I was absolutely mortified. I've never been arrested for anything in my life. I probably should have, because I've driven under the influence before...but last night I was speeding & got pulled over about 1/2 mile from my apartment. I KNOW I had too much to drink before I got into the car to go home...I KNOW I did, & that's what's killing me right now. I just feel so stupid, so guilty, so idiotic. I'm just so embarrassed.

As far as my drinking habits, I tended to go a little overboard in college about 10 years ago, & that was probably the worst of it. I still drink socially, & I don't even do it that often - but the thing is, when I DO drink, I almost always have too much. At this moment I have no desire to touch the stuff again in my life, & I hope that lasts. I think this DWI scared me straight.

I'm fortunate in that I work from home - all of my work is computer-based (I'm a copy editor). So I don't have the job nightmare that often goes along with a DWI. But I do have two little girls, 4 & 5 years old. I'm divorced & get along well with my ex. The only issue I see with a license suspension, if it happens, is that I need to drive them to & from school. That's practically the only driving I do nowadays, but I gotta be able to do it. If my ex found out about this I would be even more mortified than I am now...I can't stop worrying about that, even though I know worrying doesn't help anything.