Notices

Resentment for My Job

Old 02-15-2011, 09:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Resentment for My Job

Trying to work through my newer resentments due to my recent drinking...

I am a graphic designer, graduated college in May of 2009 got an internship with a company and have worked for the same company since then. I've never received a pay raise, no insurance benefits, no paid vacation, no paid sick days...I work 40 hours a week and do a salaried person's job for approximately $12,000 a year less than the average entry-level designer.

I know I should be grateful to just have a job but I am just angry at this point. How can a company do this to an employee? It's like being in one of my old emotionally abusive relationships...but this time it's with an employer. I'm lucky to have what I have...but what I have is taking advantage of me. I help do designs for their million dollar customers...but they won't even pay me for holidays?

Everyday I look on job boards for a different job...but I get nowhere. This has been going on for 1 year and 3 months. My job says they're trying to get my position approved so I can get compensated appropriately...but that has been going on for 7 months...and there is great doubt that they're even being truthful with me. The more time goes by, the more spiteful I get about this all. I worked my butt off to graduate college with the thought that one day it would be worthwhile...but it just doesn't seem that way. In fact, I'd be better off financially if I took a non-degree required job with benefits...but then my career would be halted.

Other than just saying, "be happy you get paid at all" because that really doesn't do it for me...Does anyone have any advice for working through this resentment?

Thanks,
April
Old 02-15-2011, 09:57 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Not waving, but drowning

Sorry---no answers here, just sympathy!