Notices

Health Care Professionals in Recovery

Old 02-05-2011, 07:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Health Care Professionals in Recovery

I am a registered nurse and a recovering alcoholic. I still sometimes find myself struggling with the shame and embarrassment of being an alcoholic in this profession, even though I know I'm just as human and imperfect at the next person. I am in a recovery monitoring program, as well.

Just seeing if there are any others here in the same boat. I am a member of a couple of boards that are specific to nurses in recovery, but this board has been a terrific help to me and I have a great deal of respect for so many of you.

Thank You.
Old 02-05-2011, 07:10 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

My wife's best friend is a respiratory therapist and smokes..

We all have jobs, don't feel any different because of your job.. Just focus on recovery you'll be great! Look at as a positive because you know first hand what you need to do.
Old 02-05-2011, 10:01 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Che

I think regardless of occupation, we all feel ashamed. As humans we often try to attach special meaning and significance to intensify an emotion... We'll think about friends or family and ask ourselves about the irony that we love them and yet we hurt them. You'll grasp onto the idea that you've dedicated your career to helping people and yet why haven't you helped yourself? Are you like a dentist with bad teeth?

The only thing to do is to try and get better. We're equal on those terms.
Old 02-05-2011, 02:45 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

When I began working my AA Steps....they showed me a way
to overcome my past..and that included feeleing guilty.

I had become a CNA after 3 years in AA.
It was my 2nd job change in sobriety.
That did not hinder my progres ..

Old 02-05-2011, 03:12 PM
  # 5 (permalink)